Blog
New rules could cut EV charging costs for drivers
- October 22, 2026
- Posted by: Clean Energy Skills
- Category: EV

Estimated reading time: 5 minutes · Last updated:
England has changed planning rules so households can install a pavement gully — a narrow channel letting an EV cable run from a home supply to a kerbside car — without the previous planning application. The change removes a step that councils and installers say has taken applicants up to 15 months and would save drivers about £300–£500 in fees; the government has also made £25m available to councils for gullies. Examples and council responses here were gathered in interviews and local records, as first reported by The Guardian.
You either have to have enough money to have a house with a driveway, or you have to be able to afford the additional cost of charging at a public charger.
Alison Williams
Key takeaways
- Policy change: Households in England no longer have to apply for planning permission to install a pavement gully, though conservation areas are excluded.
- Households affected: Some 9.3 million households in England do not have off-street parking and are potential beneficiaries of on-street gullies.
- Costs and funding: The government has allocated £25m to councils for gullies, while typical private installation averages about £1,200 including VAT according to Kerbo Charge.
- Running costs and savings: ChargeUK figures cited put off-peak at-home charging at 8p/kWh versus an average 54p/kWh on public chargers, and one owner reports full charging for £6 using a gully.
Table of contents
What the rule change does and who it helps
The rule change removes the need for a planning application to place a pavement gully outside a home in England, allowing a cable to pass from a household electricity supply across the pavement to a car parked on the road. A pavement gully sits flush with the footway and is designed to avoid trip hazards by containing the cable in a steel channel.
The relaxation aims to speed installations and lower upfront costs: campaigners report approval times of up to 15 months under the old regime, and councils or installers say dropping the planning step will save applicants roughly £300–£500 in fees. The change does not apply where properties are in conservation areas, where planning permission will still be required.
How much installations and licences actually cost
Prices vary widely between local authorities and providers. Kerbo Charge tells homeowners the average fee without a grant is about £1,200 including VAT, while some councils are using central funding to subsidise or fully cover channels for early applicants.
Surrey council offers installations at £499, South Gloucestershire council at £250, and Redbridge council will fund up to £1,200 while requiring applicants to pay £815 in fees and a bond plus any additional installation costs. Redbridge also applies an annual licence charge of £185, and Enfield charges £107 a year.
Why some councils are resisting the change
More than 20 local authorities are reported as refusing to permit gullies, citing safety, accessibility and liability concerns. Councils such as Waltham Forest and Hackney in London, and county areas including Kent, Leicester and Worcestershire, say gullies raise issues for pavement users, maintenance responsibilities and electrical safety standards.
Councils explain they must balance on-street charging support against limited resources and other demands; the Local Government Association’s Carl Cashman says authorities want to help but face constraints. Some councils argue gullies could affect the experience of people who walk or wheel, including those with visual impairments, and have therefore declined trials or wide roll-outs.
What this means for drivers’ bills and everyday charging
For drivers without a driveway, running a gully that draws power from the household electricity supply can substantially reduce charging costs because domestic tariffs are much lower than public-charger rates. ChargeUK's data records off-peak home charging at 8p per kilowatt-hour, compared with an average of 54p per kWh at standard public chargers; drivers interviewed reported much smaller per-charge bills at home — one owner said a full charge of a Vauxhall Vivaro Life costs £6 and is done twice a week.
Drivers should check their council’s policy and any local grants before arranging installation: Kerbo Charge operates a postcode checker to show eligibility, and councils differ on whether central funding makes channels free, subsidised or paid-for. Also note that VAT on domestic electricity has been cut from 5% to 0% this month while public charging remains at 20%, increasing the relative advantage of at-home charging through a gully.
| Council | Installation / channel price | Grant or subsidy | Annual licence or fees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Surrey | £499 | Local subsidy applied | Not specified |
| South Gloucestershire | £250 | Local subsidy applied | Not specified |
| Redbridge | Grant covers up to £1,200 | Grant up to £1,200 but applicants pay £815 in fees and bond | £185 a year |
| Enfield | Not specified | Local scheme in place | £107 a year |
How the change could play out
The case for
- Lower upfront costs and quicker approvals should increase take-up where councils adopt gullies, easing a key barrier for the 9.3 million households without off-street parking.
- Central funding of £25m and the domestic VAT cut to 0% for household electricity strengthen the financial case for at-home charging versus public points.
The case against
- Councils that keep bans or strict trials will sustain a postcode lottery so many drivers cannot access cheaper home charging.
- Ongoing annual licence fees and bond or administrative charges could erode the savings for some households, and safety or accessibility objections may slow roll-outs.
What to be careful about
- More than 20 councils are reported to be refusing gullies, leaving many households unable to benefit immediately.
- Variable subsidy approaches mean the government’s £25m fund may not cover equal costs across councils, producing wide local price gaps.
- Annual licence or maintenance charges (for example £185 in Redbridge or £107 in Enfield) could reduce net savings over time.
- Concerns about pavement accessibility and liability could produce legal or design changes that delay installations.
The bottom line
The planning change lowers a clear administrative barrier to at-home kerbside charging and, combined with a £25m fund and the domestic VAT cut, materially strengthens the economics of household-supplied charging. However, the benefits depend on local delivery: wide price variation, ongoing licence fees and the fact that more than 20 councils are reported to be refusing gullies mean the change will create winners and losers. Drivers without driveways should check their council’s stance and grant offers before committing to installation, because eligibility and net cost vary sharply by postcode.
What to watch
- Watch whether your local council publishes specific guidance or an application window for pavement gullies; no date has been set.
- Watch for council decisions from holdout authorities such as Waltham Forest, Hackney or county councils named among the 20+ refusing gullies; no date has been set.
Frequently asked questions
How much could I save charging at home with a gully?
ChargeUK's figures show off-peak home charging at 8p per kWh versus an average of 54p per kWh at public chargers, and one owner reports paying £6 for a full charge using a gully; ChargeUK also says switching to home-based charging can lower costs 'by up to 90%'.
Do I still need planning permission to install a gully?
In England you generally no longer need planning permission for a pavement gully after the rule change, but properties in conservation areas still require an application and some councils retain local restrictions.
How much will installation and ongoing charges be?
Kerbo Charge gives an average installation fee of about £1,200 including VAT without grants; local examples include Surrey at £499 and South Gloucestershire at £250, while Redbridge requires an applicant contribution of £815 plus a bond and lists a £185 annual licence fee.
Related reading
This article is information, not financial advice. Anyone acting on it should do their own checks.